Sigyn Birkeland (Bassoon)

Sigyn Birkeland was principle bassoonist of the

Norwegian Radio Orchestra 1992 - 2008, having

previously been a member of the Trondheim

Symphony Orchestra. She is an active soloist and

chamber musician, with a particular interest in

creating new repertoire for her instrument. Several

composers have dedicated new works to her.

Of these, she made the world premiere recordings

of Stephen Frost’s concerto for bassoon and

orchestra with the Bournemouth symphony

orchestra, and of Egil Hovland’s “Agnus Dei”

for bassoon and mixed choir with the Oslo

Cathedral Choir.